did you know? – view counts in google plus / picasa

17 Oct

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week, I was uploading a selection of edited pictures (including some of my favourites from above) from my Europe trip to Google Plus (G+) and discovered that you could see view counts on G+ albums through Picasa.

When you upload pictures to G+, they are essentially uploaded to Picasa web albums where you can choose to share them with your circles and the web. I wanted to re-organize my photos in this album and was directed to Picasa. I went through my album one by one to see how it looked and I noticed view counts at the bottom of my photos. I had publicly shared this album because I wanted to share the link with non-G+ people and there were some interesting and inconsistent view counts in this album.

I had uploaded before and after photos of almost every one because I like comparing photos after they’ve been edited and on some pictures I had 10 view counts and on some I had 170! It was really weird (and somewhat creepy) when they were pictures of me…

I wondered if the view counts were possibly linked to my profile picture because I used the same picture but I found out there is actually a separate album for profile pictures with its own view counts. Again, I had some weird numbers especially since I only have like 20 friends on G+…Feels a bit like Nexopia for those who remember it.

—–

In addition to G+ photos, Picasa also stores photos from Blogger.com and view counts are also available. To access this information, go to https://picasaweb.google.com/home and sign in with your Google account. You should see all of your web albums. Click on an album and then a photo to enter view mode. At the bottom left corner, you should may be able to see your view counts.

Edit: October 31, 2012 – One of the commentors said they could not find view counts. I investigated into this and it appears Google has removed view on some photos while view counts still exist on some. I don’t know why some photos are different then others even though they are in the same album and have the same photo properties.

5 Responses to “did you know? – view counts in google plus / picasa”

  1. Kuldhir Singh October 13, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Still i don’t know where to look for view count of pic uploaded to picasa web album. I was unable to locate it anywhere at bottom of page

    • shannon October 31, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

      Hi, I made an edit to this blog. I looked into it and yes, some of the view counts of individual pictures in my album have disappeared. I don’t know why this is so. Apologies for not being much help!

      • Anonymous April 13, 2013 at 4:28 am #

        Google decided to show only counters above 250 views…
        Why, only god and Google knows

  2. Anonymous April 18, 2014 at 8:41 am #

    Only above 250 views?! Idiotic…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - October 22, 2011

    […] View counts in Google Plus through Picasa  […]

share with me

