check app sale activity before buying

9 Nov

Building upon the message from yesterday’s blog, I hate it when I buy stuff only to have it go on sale a couple of days later (with no price adjustment!) or find it cheaper somewhere else. The same is true with apps where some of them switch between “regular” and sale price every other day. Most normal people don’t have the patience to track an app’s sale activity every day to make sure they are getting the best price but of course, there’s an app for that.

I use Appshopper for monitoring sale activity on the Appstore and while there are probably other apps that filter better, it’s been sufficient for my purposes. You can browse through “popular” price drops and free apps and filter for specific categories.

The feature that I like about the app is the ability to search for an app and get a detailed sale activity for that particular app. This is useful when you have a specific app in mind and are considering buying it.  In this example, I searched for Splashtop Remote Browser (I’ll be posting on this at some point) and was given the Appstore general information and at the bottom of the page, I was given a summary of app activity. Note, this is one of the apps that changes its price every other day and blatantly lies in the general information that the “regular” price is $19.99 and is on sale for a “limited time.” If you notice in the screenshot below, it hasn’t been that price for a long time. I clicked on “All activity for this app” and the last time it was $19.99 was September 26, 2010. I’d hardly call that its regular price, but I digress. Regardless of its dishonest marketing, I actually quite like the app and picked it up at its lowest price point of $1.99 (a whopping 90% off!!!!)

So before you buy that app, check it’s price activity and see if waiting a couple of days or weeks (if it’s an expensive one like Quickoffice) will have financial benefits even if it’s just $.99

P.S. The Oatmeal created a pretty funny and accurate comic on how people feel about buying apps.

5 Responses to “check app sale activity before buying”

  1. Ada November 14, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I have been on Appshopper non-stop!
    Already downloaded couple of apps that are on sale (*free)!

    Thanks 🙂

    • shannon November 19, 2011 at 1:45 am #

      hehe i’m glad you like it! now you can download the amazing race app lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - November 13, 2011

    […] – Check app sale activity before buying that app! […]

  2. my favourite ipad apps for school, entertainment, and productivity! « 1 : 24 - January 18, 2012

    […] wrote a post about this a couple months ago so I will just link to it here. I use it for price comparisons, price watches  and app price activity. *Edit: Just realized I did […]

  3. travel blog 7: photographing memories « 1 : 24 - February 1, 2012

    […] use and the photos turn out great. You might be able to find this for free by checking AppShopper (I blogged about this too) every few days. They also came out with a Mac app which I purchased for $19.99. It has the same […]

share with me

