subtle differences: japanese food

6 Dec

A couple of nights ago, I went out for Japanese food with my family. My sister was craving tempura udon and ordered it for dinner. The server repeated it and my sister confirmed. When her food came, it was actually tempura don which is tempura on a bed of rice, not noodles.

This mix-up also happened once when my dad was ordering Indian food to go. He wanted naan bread and I guess he said it like “nan” instead of “non” and asked for an order of “nan” and the lady mistook his order as lamb curry.

Moral of the story: Enunciate your food choices to avoid mix-ups like the ones above. Or maybe it’s just my family…haha.

One Response to “subtle differences: japanese food”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - December 11, 2011

    […] Subtle differences: enunciation is important  […]

share with me

