my fifteen minutes of fame: product testing for a tv show

9 Dec

(Not my picture – Sourced from Creative Director’s twitter feed )

Random experience of the month – Two nights ago, I was browsing Craigslist and for some reason went to the Volunteer section of the site to see what kind of stuff is posted there. There was a posting that called for product testers in Vancouver so I clicked on it. I like trying new products and have done it a couple of times before.

This casting call was for people to try out a product for an upcoming show “Buy.o.Logic” that will air on the Oprah Winfrey Network in Canada. It is produced by Anna and Kristina of the Shopping Bags and Grocery Bags which is often featured on the W Network. I figured, sure why not, I don’t have anything else planned for tomorrow morning. I sent them an email and they emailed me back with information about what I would be testing and where.

This morning I made my way to the Vancouver Film School cafe on West Hastings to try out dental floss, seriously! The objective of the show was to get 100 people to try the product while being filmed for the episode. This was a 3 hour ordeal and I tried out 5 different types of dental floss which are available now at most drugstores. At first we given numbers to wear on our clothes and sat down at a bunch of random tables.

I sat with these three middle aged women – one was an aspiring actress, one was a comedian, and not sure what the other did. We chatted briefly and I felt really awkward since I didn’t have anything interesting to say to them. I can get pretty quiet when I’m with a bunch of people I don’t know.

The creative director ( I think?) for the show stood on the stage and welcomed everyone. We were told what would happen for the rest of the day. We would go around and try out 5 different types of floss. At the end, we would choose which one we liked best and would film scenes with the host of the show. My favourite floss was the Oral B Glide, so smooth and minty fresh!

Most of the time, I stood around and talked to other people that were there. Such a random bunch of people! I was really interested in going just to see who actually went to these things and how they even got into it. A couple said they saw the ad in an Actor’s magazine or something, a few saw it on Craigslist like myself, some had done product testing for the show before and one was persuaded by a friend who decided not to come, haha. A lot of people came from far away like Pitt Meadows and Maple Ridge far away which is surprising. I guess if you have a chance to be on camera, you’ll jump at the opportunity. Some people even flossed their teeth right in front of the cameraman – glad it wasn’t me who was chosen to do that.

As “compensation” for our time, there were some door prizes like vacuums, ab workout stuff ( from the last episode), and a cookbook. I think these items were past test items. I didn’t win anything but they gave goodie bags to everyone at the end which was nice. I got: a Cobs Bread reusable bag (great, now I have 10 reusable bags), $5 to Cob’s Bread, gift card (amount unknown) to Caya, Bonchaz pastry coupon, Riceworks chips, trial size Udderly Smooth cream, and a 225 gram bag of roasted coffee beans from Caffe Artigiano.

Would I do it again? Maybe – depending on the product being tested and I would definitely go with someone I know next time. I think I would have felt more comfortable without having to make general conversation with strangers. Clearly, I have some social issues…haha. I didn’t care much to be in front of the camera but, you might catch me in the background or in the closing scene with the host and our favourite dental floss.

Should have taken some pics while I was there but wasn’t sure if I was allowed! Anyways, the episode is supposed to air in March 2012, so I’ll let you know when it is so you can catch my fifteen minutes of fame, lol.

If you are interested in doing product testing like what I did, this is the website for the show and they post casting call info on it as well.

6 Responses to “my fifteen minutes of fame: product testing for a tv show”

  1. kiran December 11, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    good post! flossing is important! 😛 I find it funny that people who want to get into acting go to these things… does product testing really count as acting experience? … I guess it is experience in front of the camera…

    • shannon December 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      I always forget how important flossing is. I read it’s more important to floss than it is to brush. I wouldn’t go that far but I think it’s pretty close but I personally put greater emphasis on flossing.

      A camera is a camera. I guess it helps them become more comfortable in front of it.

  2. Kevin H. Kim December 12, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    i’ll go with you next time!

    • shannon December 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Hehe, ok. I’ll keep you posted

  3. Canadianpetite December 14, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Yes, would love to see your “fame”. I laughed at “as far away as Pitt Meadows and Maple Ridge”. I don’t live too far away from there. It reminded me when my mom insisted that I drive her to Coquitlam Centre — back then it was the boonies for me (former Vancouver girl).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - December 11, 2011

    […] My random experience of the month: product testing dental floss! […]

share with me

