my quest for a natural hand soap

21 Dec

For Christmas, my mom asked for nice  hand soap (e.g. something other than the 2 litre jugs of Jergens we have at our house). I thought, “Hmm… this should be easy.” It was not.

For the past couple of years, I have been purchasing natural products as opposed to conventional ones with chemicals and other fun stuff. Examples of natural / chemical-free beauty products I’ve adopted include:

Make up remover  = Jojoba Oil
Body wash = Lush products (bar or liquid)
Shampoo = solid shampoo bars from Lush
Conditioner = Jason conditioner (I have the aloe vera one and I quite like it – I have a bad sense of smell so I can’t really comment on whether it smells good or not)
Deodorant = solid deodorant bar + powder from Lush (smells so good!)
Toothpaste = whatever one is on sale at Whole Foods when I need it, hehe
Hand soap = Dr. Bronner’s soap diluted with water

I do use a couple of “conventional” products mainly because I’ve had them for a while and should use it up (shaving cream, some shampoos, cleanser, and pretty much all of my makeup). I’m also a fan of the Clinque moisturizer and I haven’t found anything that makes me skin so smooth and controls oil. I know that makeup has some pretty bad stuff in it but there just isn’t a big enough range of makeup products that are natural and affordable.

Anyways, back to the hand soap quest. I went to a whole bunch of different places to find something I could give to my mom. She’s into natural stuff but definitely not to the extent that I am. At first I wanted to get her something natural so I went to Whole Foods. The thing about natural products is the packaging is not fancy or that appealing to give as a gift. I didn’t see anything I liked so I considered buying something conventional for her instead. I went to the Body Shop and browsed their soaps but couldn’t resist looking at the ingredients (I grew up thinking they had “natural” products but if you look at the ingredients, they definitely aren’t. Some of their products have some fair trade ingredients but there are more chemical ingredients instead). I considered L’Occitane and Crabtree and Evelyn but again, more chemicals – couldn’t do it. Bath and Body Works. Fruits and Passion. Even soaps at Chapters! I just couldn’t do it. If I wouldn’t buy it for myself, why should I buy it for my mom?

When I was on Granville Street, I remembered that Rocky Mountain Soap Company was just up the street and went there to check out their stuff. The store smelled so fresh and so clean in a natural way and I picked up a Vanilla Candy Cane hand soap that smelled really nice and I could read the ingredients!

Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate (Coconut Oil), Aqua (Water), Potassium Olivate (Olive Oil), Potassium Jojobate (Jojoba Oil), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Organic Vanilla Flavour, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Sodium Phytate (Rice Bran Extract)

—–

Anyways, I couldn’t think of anything else to post today so I guess you learned that I have become a natural product snob  and how natural and chemical-free hand soap is hard to come by in the mall.

 

3 Responses to “my quest for a natural hand soap”

  1. Kevin H. Kim December 22, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    what are the benefits of using natural hand soap as opposed to anti bacterial hand soaps (b&bworks)?

    • shannon December 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      I read that antibacterial soap is actually not recommended for hand washing because you can develop immunity to bacteria and are no more beneficial in preventing illness than regular soap. Even those posters in skytrains promote just regular soap and water. Anyways, I found an article about antibac vs regular soap as well that discusses this from WebMD

    • http://www.webmd.com/news/20051020/fda-panel-no-advantage-to-antibacterial-soap

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - January 7, 2012

    […] my quest for natural hand soap  […]

share with me

