make your jeans holiday (aka food baby) friendly

24 Dec

You know that feeling when you eat too much food and you really want to unbutton your jeans but afraid you might expose a bit too much? Or have a pair of jeans that are just a bit tight in the waist? Or anticipating a food baby? Try this.

I’ve been doing this for a few months now. I have a couple pairs of jeans that fit well in the thighs but are just a wee bit tight in the stomach. By  “wee” bit, I mean it’s hard to breathe when I sit down with them buttoned up…don’t judge.

I figured the upcoming holidays are the perfect time to share my secret with you! I’ve shared it with my friends and they’ve shared it with theirs so hopefully you find it as useful as they do.

—–

To increase your waistband by ~1 inch and trust me, 1 inch can make you feel much better, follow these steps or skip to the video below if you are a visual person.

1. Find a sturdy and strong-looking elastic band. Good choices are the thicker ones that come with produce (like broccoli) or around a newspaper. Don’t use those skinny ones.

2. Find a pair of jeans that are a bit too tight in the waist or could potentially be too tight.

3. Put them on and zip them up but don’t button.

4. Insert half of the elastic into the button-hole. Now take the inserted part and put it through the right hole. So you now have a loop around the jean.

5. Wrap the rest of the elastic around the button several times until you have no more loop and then pull it over top of the button.

6. Now you have a stretchy elastic waistband with the comfort of unbuttoned jeans that sit flat and won’t flap open. I also recommend wearing this with shirts that cover the button…so no tucked in shirts or cropped sweaters.

Now eat to your heart’s content and don’t judge me for actually thinking of this….haha. Happy holidays!

Apologies for the narrow field of vision. I was using my iPhone and had to hold it with my body while doing the video.

3 Responses to “make your jeans holiday (aka food baby) friendly”

  1. kiran December 31, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I decided to finally try this and it was great! It felt a little weird too though, will probably take some getting used to.

    • shannon January 4, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      haha, yes! love it. I honestly think it might be the best thing I discovered all of last year…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. in case you missed it… « 1 : 24 - January 7, 2012

    […] my favourite tip: adjust your jeans for an expanding waistline especially after those big meals   […]

share with me

